Customer GL groups
Use customer GL groups to categorize customers to post transactions to specific GL accounts based on these categories.
If you want to categorize customers for reporting, for example to view the Customer aging report by customer category, see Customer types.
About customer GL groups
You can create customer GL groups that are specific to your business. Then you assign a customer GL group to each customer record. Finally, you can map the customer GL group to GL accounts on transaction definitions.
For example, say that you sell navigation software. You have one customer GL group called Government and one called Private. In this example, navigation software purchases post to different GL accounts depending on whether the customer is Government or Private. You can also filter list views by these customer GL groups.
| Subscription | Order Entry |
|---|---|
| Regional availability | All regions |
| User type |
|
| Permissions | Customer GL groups: List, View, Add, Delete, Edit |
| Restrictions | Employee, Project Manager, and Warehouse users can only List and View customer GL groups. |
View a customer GL group
Go to Order Entry > Setup > Customers > GL groups.
Records designated as Inactive do not appear in the list by default. To view these records, select Filters at the top of the list and select Remove next to the Status filter to remove it.
When you access the list from the top level, you initially see only records that were created at the top level. To see records created within entities, select Include entity records.
Select More actions > View at the end of the row to display a specific customer GL group.
Go to Order Entry > Setup > Customers > GL groups.
- To view inactive GL groups, select the Include inactive checkbox.
- When you access the list from the top level, you initially see only records that were created at the top level. To see records created within entities, select Include private.
Select View next to the customer GL group.
Add a customer GL group
Go to Order Entry > Setup > Customers and select Add (circle) next to GL groups.
- In the Name field, enter the name for the GL group.
- Use the Status dropdown list to indicate whether the GL group is active or inactive.
Select Save.
Deactivate a customer GL group
When you deactivate a customer GL group, it stops appearing in customer GL group selection lists, but Sage Intacct retains the customer GL group for historical purposes.
Go to Order Entry > Setup > Customers > GL groups.
Find the customer GL group to deactivate.
Select Edit at the end of the row.
- Select Inactive in the Status field and then select Save.
Go to Order Entry > Setup > Customers > GL groups.
Select Edit next to the applicable customer GL group.
- Select Inactive in the Status field and th select Save.
Delete a customer GL group
You can delete a customer GL group if it has not been used by any transactions or if it has not been assigned to any customers. This removes the customer GL group from Sage Intacct.
You can only delete a customer GL group if you are in the level of the multi-entity structure where the customer GL group was created. For example, if the customer GL group was created at the top level and you are in the entity level, the Delete link does not appear (the customer GL group is listed as Not owned). In this scenario, go to the appropriate level to perform the deletion.
Go to Order Entry > Setup > Customers > GL groups.
Find the customer GL group to delete.
Select More actions > Delete at the end of the row.
Depending on your user preferences, Sage Intacct might prompt you to confirm the deletion.
Go to Order Entry > Setup > Customers > GL groups.
Find the customer GL group to delete, select the checkbox at the end of the row, and select Delete at the top of the page.
Depending on your user preferences, Sage Intacct might prompt you to confirm the deletion.
Assign a customer GL group to a customer
Go to Order Entry > All > Customers.
Find the customer in the list.
Select Edit at the end of the row.
The Customer information page appears.
- Select the Additional information tab.
In the Customer details section, use the GL group dropdown to select the applicable customer GL group.
Select Save.
Go to Order Entry > All > Customers.
Find the customer in the list and select Edit.
The Customer information page appears.
- Select the Additional information tab.
In the Customer details section, use the GL group dropdown to select the applicable customer GL group.
Select Save.
Map customer GL groups to GL accounts on transaction definitions
You must have the appropriate permissions to edit transaction definitions. You can map customer GL groups to GL accounts on transaction definitions that post to either AR or the GL, for example a sales invoice.
Go to Order Entry > Setup > More > Transaction definitions.
- Find the transaction definition.
Select Edit at the end of the row.
- Select the Posting configuration tab.
Use the selection lists to map the appropriate Customer GL groups to the desired GL accounts.
The Item GL group, Warehouse, and Customer GL group together form the criteria set for the account mapping. For example, you could have the Products item GL group, Warehouse 13, and Channel customer GL group mapped to a GL account and offset account. In addition, you could have the Products item GL group, Warehouse 13, and Direct customer GL group mapped to a different GL account and offset account.
Select Save.
Go to Order Entry > Setup > More > Transaction definitions.
- Find the transaction definition and select Edit next to it.
- Select the Posting configuration tab.
Use the selection lists to map the appropriate Customer GL groups to the desired GL accounts.
The Item GL group, Warehouse, and Customer GL group together form the criteria set for the account mapping. For example, you could have the Products item GL group, Warehouse 13, and Channel customer GL group mapped to a GL account and offset account. In addition, you could have the Products item GL group, Warehouse 13, and Direct customer GL group mapped to a different GL account and offset account.
Select Save.
Learn more about transaction definitions.
Field descriptions
The following table describes each item in the Customer GL group information page.
| Field | Description |
|---|---|
Name | |
Status | The default status is Active. If you’re no longer using this customer GL group and do not want it to appear in dropdown lists, select Inactive. You can still view all inactive customer GL groups by selecting Include inactive on the Customer GL groups list. |
Status | The default status is Active. If you’re no longer using this customer GL group and do not want it to appear in dropdown lists, select Inactive. You can view all inactive customer GL groups by selecting Inactive in the Status column on the Customer GL groups list. |
What does "Not owned" mean?
The standard practice in a multi-entity shared company is to define objects at the top level to enable access to these objects across entities. You can also define entity-specific objects as needed. For example, you can define a set of vendors at the entity level for use only in the context of that specific entity. This is useful for cases when only one entity in your company interacts with those specific vendors.
When working at the entity level, objects that are defined at the top level or in another entity are shown as Not owned in the entity where you're working. For example, an object that you define in entity E100 is shown as Not owned in entity E102. You can still view the object in the entity where you're working.

